To inform users about possible hazards, product manufacturers use warning symbols, which comply with the CLP (Classification, Labeling and Packaging) 1272/2008 directive and are valid throughout Europe. Such symbols are shown in black on a white background inside a red diamond. The goal is that the same GHS (Global Harmonised System) marking and classification system will be used all over the world.

Further information about warning symbols:

GHS01 Explosives
Chemicals and objects that may explode.

GHS02 Flammable
Flammable liquids, vapours, gases, aerosols and solids

GHS03 Oxidising
Chemicals that cause another material to burn, or that accelerate the reaction.

GHS04 Pressurised gases
Gases kept in a pressurised container (at least 2 bar).

GHS05 Corrosive
Chemicals that corrode the skin and/or metal and cause severe eye damage.

GHS06 Acute toxicity
Chemicals that are immediately toxic upon inhalation, ingestion and/or skin contact.

GHS07 Lower systemic health hazards
Chemicals that cause eye and skin irritation, allergic reactions, skin reactions, airway irritation, acute toxicity, drowsiness or dizziness.

GHS08 Systemic health hazards
Chemicals with long-term effects, such as cancer, reproductive damage, weakened fertility or foetal damage. These chemicals may also cause allergic reactions when inhaled, or an aspiration hazard.

GHS09 Environmental hazards
Chemicals that are hazardous to the environment.